Thursday, 24, June, 2021

Uzbekistan and Kazakhstan plan to give start to the Silk Road Visa project - the so-called Asian Schengen before 2022, the Ministry of Culture and Sports of Kazakhstan told Sputnik Kazakhstan.

At the initial stage, the Silk Road project will include Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan.

Reportedly, the regulation on the multiple-entry tourist electronic Silk Road Visa and a list of countries whose citizens can apply for such a visa have already been approved. Negotiations are underway to introduce a unified visas issuance electronic system.

Kyrgyzstan and Azerbaijan are also expected to join the Asian Schengen in the future. The Silk Road Visa multiple-entry e-tourist visa will allow tourists from all over the world to visit several countries at once. The proposed mechanism will allow to overcome obstacles for the transnational tourism product, according to the Ministry of Culture.

Latest in National