Tuesday, 26, September, 2023

Central Election Commission, at its meeting on June 5, registered all candidates for the presidential elections on July 9. The registered candidates are:

  • Ulugbek Inoyatov, the People's Democratic Party;
  • Shavkat Mirziyoyev, Liberal Democratic Party (UzLiDeP);
  • Robahon Makhmudova, Adolat (Justice) Social Democratic Party;
  • Abdushukur Khamzaev, Ecological Party.

As previously reported, the Milliy Tiklanish party had not nominated its own candidate, but supported Shavkat Mirziyoyev's candidacy.

Between May 31 and June 2, CEC expert groups checked the signature sheets in support of the candidates provided by the parties. The audit concluded that enough signatures had been collected and had been collected in accordance with the law.

By the decision of the CEC, June 7 is the start day of the election campaign. Candidates were given free airtime on the national and provincial television and radio channels of the National Television and Radio Company, as well as space free of charge in the national newspapers Yangi Uzbekiston, Pravda Vostoka, Khalq Suzi and Narodnoye Slovo, as well as in 24 local newspapers.

The decision emphasized that the principle of equality had to be respected when covering candidates' campaign events in news programs and other information materials.

Latest in National