Thursday, 25, July, 2024

Pakistan Muslim Leagu president Shehbaz Sharif was elected as the 23rd prime minister of Pakistan after 174 lawmakers voted in his favour after Imran Khan's Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) MNAs boycotted the election.

PTI MNAs had walked out of the halls, with Shah Mahmood Qureshi — who was the party's candidate for the top slot — announcing that they would be resigning en masse from the NA.

After the PTI boycotted the elections and walked out of the assembly, Shehbaz remained the lone contender for the prime minister's slot and was consequently elected as the country's chief executive.

PML-N's Ayaz Sadiq presided over today's session after Deputy Speaker Qasim Suri said his conscience did not allow him to conduct the session.

Latest in World