Saturday, 19, January, 2019

The UN General Assembly has approved a resolution “Situation of human rights in the Autonomous Republic of Crimea and the city of Sevastopol”.

The resolution was supported by 70 member countries of the UN. 26 countries voted against the resolution, Among them are Russia, Armenia, Belarus, Bolivia, India, Kazakhstan, China, the DPRK, Cuba, Serbia, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan and South Africa. Seventy-six countries abstained from voting.

The measure calls for an immediate end to "all rights violations, including arbitrary detentions, torture and other cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment," and demands that Russia fulfill the interim decision of the International Court of Justice "on the restoration of rights and freedoms for Ukrainian citizens on the peninsula."

It urges Russia to revoke its decision “declaring the Mejlis, the Crimean Tatar people's assembly, an extremist organization and banning its activities. It also called on Moscow to reverse other limitations imposed on Crimean Tatars.”

The resolution condemns “the illegal establishment by the Russian Federation of laws, jurisdiction and administration in the occupied Crimea”. Its co-authors called on the Russian Federation to comply with «obligations under international law with respect to the laws that operated in the Crimea prior to the occupation.”

The preamble of the document condemns the “temporary occupation» by the Russian Federation of the part of the territory of Ukraine — the Autonomous Republic of Crimea and the city of Sevastopol.”

Latest in World