Saturday, 13, July, 2024

From 2-12 January in Brisbane (Australia) was held 2017 Australian Open Championship. 103 players from 15 countries participated including 5 GM's, 9 IM's and 2 WIM's. The total prize fund was AUD 10,250.

In the end of 11 rounds 4 players scored 8.5 points, but on additional indicators 16-year old IM, Temur Kuybokarov of Uzbekistan has become the champion.

Second place went to 24-year-old grandmaster from Australia Max Illingworth , "bronze" went to 20-year-old Azeri ,Kanan Izzat.

It is noteworthy that in the 10th round Kuybokarov defeated the tournament’s highest ranking, grand master from Egypt, 29-year-old Ahmed Adly, who finished 5th. 

Latest in Sports